The News, Explained

On October 22, 2026, Xbox announced six games for Free Play Days. Three are available to eligible Game Pass subscribers, while three can be tried without those subscriptions. Two have a three-hour limit, and Riders Republic runs through October 26, one calendar day beyond the three subscriber games. Membership, calendar dates and play-time limits together determine the trial available to a player. Source

Game Pass is Xbox’s game subscription service. The plans named in this announcement are Ultimate, Premium and Essential. The table compares the same fields for each game, keeping calendar dates separate from elapsed-play limits. Source

GameGame Pass conditionDates explicitly statedPlay-time limit explicitly stated
Dying Light 2: Stay Human – Reloaded EditionUltimate, Premium or Essential requiredOctober 22–25Not separately stated
Let’s Build a ZooUltimate, Premium or Essential requiredOctober 22–25Not separately stated
Tropico 6Ultimate, Premium or Essential requiredOctober 22–25Not separately stated
Monster Hunter StoriesThese plans not requiredNo separate dates statedThree-hour timed trial
Monster Hunter Stories 2: Wings of RuinThese plans not requiredNo separate dates statedThree-hour timed trial
Riders RepublicThese plans not requiredOctober 22–26Not separately stated

Source

The dates follow the Xbox Wire text. The announcement does not provide exact starting and ending times with time zones. Its paragraph about the two Monster Hunter Stories games also gives no separate calendar window, so the table identifies their confirmed three-hour limit separately. Three hours describes an elapsed-play allowance; a calendar window describes the dates on which an event is offered. Source

Someone considering the Monster Hunter Stories games can therefore decide what to explore within three hours. The source describes both as turn-based role-playing games, where actions are selected in turns. Riders Republic covers cycling, snow sports and other activities; this announcement pairs its subscription-free trial access with an event window through October 26. Source

The announcement also provides installation routes. On Xbox One or Xbox Series X|S, open the Subscriptions tab in the Xbox Store and find the Free Play Days collection. On the web, a game’s details page leads to the Microsoft Store. Xbox says players must be signed in to see installation options using an eligible Game Pass membership. Source

For continued play after the trial, the announcement points to buying a game or edition. Gamerscore and achievements earned during the event are retained. Gamerscore means the points accumulated through achievements. Separating trial access from later purchase terms helps distinguish taking part in the event from acquiring continuing access. Source

This comparison follows the US Xbox Wire announcement. Xbox says discounts, percentages and title availability may vary by game and region. Trial options and purchase terms in the player’s account region therefore also matter. Source

OYOPICK’s Take

Alongside the number of games, we think an event list should make the entitlement and time budget visible. Existing eligible Game Pass members can consider the three subscriber titles. Players trying games without those subscriptions can distinguish the Monster Hunter Stories three-hour allowance from Riders Republic’s event window. Seeing that difference could make it easier to judge whether a new subscription is needed for the particular trial they want.

We would welcome future notices that clearly present every title’s event expiry and remaining trial time together. Showing calendar dates alongside elapsed-play limits could help players fit a trial into their weekend and examine the parts that matter to a later purchase decision.